Seijun Suzuki: The Early Years Vol. 2 DVD Collection Review


Good Morning Lovelies, 

Seijun Suzuki was a man who was known for his masterful youth films and after a very successful first volume, the second edition of his best feature films from his early years has arrived on DVD and Blu-ray.

Featuring Eight Hours of Terror (1957), The Sleeping Beast Within (1960), Smashing the 0-Line (1960), Tokyo Knights (1961), The Man with a Shotgun (1961), the new collection shares with audience’s films that have never been seen outside of Japan for the first time ever. And they are definitely worth the wait to see them.

Taking audiences on a darker journey than the first volume, these new features highlight the world of crime and danger, mixed with Suzuki’s ability to add turns and twists at every moment. Pushing the boundaries of audience members throughout each film, Suzuki makes films that are worthy of many awards and notes of the impression he left on future films.

Again, the new collection shows masterpiece after masterpiece, highlighting Suzuki ‘s ability to change and mould cinema into something new and different. He is a testament to directors everywhere with this latest collection. Therefore, I am giving it…

4 Stars

Blog Soon, 
Joey X

You Might Also Like