The CTBF Announces The 2017 Recipients Of The John Brabourne Awards


Good Afternoon Lovelies, 

Hope you are all well today lovelies! I am preparing to finish work for Easter today, which has made the sun shine and my mind burst with joy aha! To build upon this joy even further, the CTBF have announced the 11 recipients of the inaugural January round of the John Brabourne Awards (JBAs).

Over 250 applications were made by very talented people lovelies, who have sadly faced personal and professional issues in developing the careers and now the 11 recipients have been chosen. Each receiving a grant of up to £5,000, alongside professional support and talent development from The CTBF.

Previous winners include Shan Christopher Ogilvie who in March was selected for Film London’s ‘London Calling Plus’ shorts production scheme; Rachel Tunnard whose debut feature Adult Life Skills won Best Supporting Actor and Debut Screenwriter at the 2016 British Independent Film Awards and Best First Screenplay at the 2016 Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards; Mike Day, whose feature documentary The Island and the Whales has now played at 65 festivals worldwide; and Aleem Khan who was recently selected as a participant for the world-renowned and highly competitive 2017 Sundance Screenwriters Lab.

Joining them as winning alumni is, Ali Mansuri a London-based award-winning producer whose shorts have screened at over 200 festivals worldwide including Berlinale, Tribeca, Palm Springs and BFI London Film Festival. Andrea Luka Zimmerman is a filmmaker, artist, and cultural activist who grew up on a council estate in Munich before moving to London in 1991 where she would later earn a PhD from Central Saint Martins. Artangel Open winner and the first director to be shortlisted for both the Grierson and Jarman Awards.

Annetta Laufer who is an award-winning filmmaker whose films have screens at festivals including Encounters, London Short Film Festival and The Harlem International Film Festival. Billy Lumby, an award-winning writer/director from London; Dean Loxton is a writer-director and an acting graduate of Bristol Old Vic Theatre School whose short films have screened at festivals all over the world including Palm Springs, Austin Film Festival, and London Short Film Festival. Iesh Thapar is a filmmaker and recent graduate of the world-renowned MFA Film program at Columbia University School of the Arts in New York.

Jed Hart, a Brighton based writer-director of shorts and music videos, Jed is interested in smart, visually striking genre filmmaking with a track-record of delivering high-quality authored films; Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor Joy, a London-based producer with over seven years’ experience in creating films from shorts and features, Lizzie Oxby, an award-winning filmmakers and graduate of London’s Royal College of Art, Marie Teuje who is a sound editor with a background in music composition and songwriting and Mathieu Karsenti who is an award-winning music composer for film and TV with over 6 years' commercial experience in the industry.

Speaking about the awards, Lizzie Oxby, a writer-director and one of this round’s recipients said: “Little did I know, that on the night of the Referendum, the skies would open, and bring a flash flood to my live-work studio - putting a pause on my feature film project I’d been writing and developing. I’m very grateful for the JBA, for helping me recover lost time and speedily putting me back on track with the project, with their kind support.”

Whilst, D’Arcy Myers, Chief Executive of The CTBF also commented: “The JBAs are our flagship talent development programme, and as of 2017 in response to the increasing number and quality of applications, we began to offer the fund twice per year. We are thrilled with the response to the inaugural additional round, with the most talented emerging artists of our industry applying in their hundreds. The 11 recipients are each remarkable examples of what our film and television industries have to offer – talent, artistry, and dedication that will hopefully have the opportunity to grow with The CTBF’s support.”

Congratulations to all of the award winners! 

Blog Soon, 
Joey X

You Might Also Like