The Ultimate Let's Start With This One Spring/Summer Reading Essentials With Penguin!

17:00:00




Good Afternoon Lovelies,  

Spring is fast approaching and with that comes sunnier days, which can be spent basking in the great outdoors. It is also a time when the first holidays begin to happen and we all know that there is nothing better than a good book on holiday.

There so, along with Penguin, I have gathered some of the best books to read this spring/summer on the beach, in the park, during your commute or if we get a cold day (I live in England, after all, aha!) wrapped up under a duvet with...

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: Get ready for the film which is set to make our summers, by reading the book that started it all. I am now so much more prepared for what I should be expecting and I can't wait to see how the classic characters and new worlds will come to life. Think Blade Runner but any age can read it. If anyone can bring the new world of 2045 to life and this book, it is Spielberg. https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1089450/ready-player-one/


Our Kind of Cruelty by Araminta Hall: Instantly I knew from the blurb that this was going to be my kind of book. Full of psychological suspense that will have you second-guessing every thought you have about the book upon turning each page. A love story mixed in with a tragedy captures two people, Verity and Mike, as they play games against one another known as The Crave. It is seriously dark but so enjoyable. https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1114883/our-kind-of-cruelty/


Educated by Tara Westover: If you enjoy reading memoirs whilst sitting on a sun lounger or on the beach, this book is the one for you. Already a huge award winner, the book tells Westover's story from a young age with a negative family to incredibly talented woman. An inspiration to all, it is heartbreaking to read about how Westover wasn't registered as a child, yet, her own determination to give herself an education makes for some amazingly powerful moments. https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1112793/educated/


The Innocent Wife by Amy Lloyd: Fans of Gone Girl, Serial and Making a Murderer will not be able to put this book down. I promise you all that! Focusing on the case of a man called Dennis, who was arrested and charged with the murder of a young girl, the book captures his relationship with investigator Samantha, a woman based in England who becomes obsessed with uncovering the truth. As Samantha finds out, you do too, but the need to read on comes from wanting to know if what you are discovering is real. This is definitely a duvet day/bedtime read! https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1113480/the-innocent-wife/


Look For Me by Lisa Gardner: Another thriller on this list, fans of Broadchurch and The Fall, will love Gardner's new novel. As two detectives work together to save a young girls life, this book never ever stops being intense. Six members of a family have been affected and five of them could be involved. That is how intense it is lovelies. Get everyone around you to read it so you can discuss it because you are going to want to talk to someone about this book after reading it. https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1114156/look-for-me/


Have fun reading these modern classics this spring/summer lovelies!  

Blog Soon,  
Joey X  

You Might Also Like

0 comments